Why blog?

Standard
Earlier this summer I worked together with a colleague from the Communication Office on developing and running a half-day workshop on blogging – why do people blog? What do we need to consider when blogging?

Photo by anniemole, available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) license.

The aim of the session was to be interactive – we experimented using open-space learning techniques to engage participants in discussions and debate about blogging. The session was also supported with a number of on-line resources and discussions that provide more of an insight into issues people face when blogging and advice for people new to blogging. These include a Why blog?blog and a Why Blog? resource bank.

Staff from a variety of different backgrounds and blogging experiences attended and we had some very interesting debates around the opportunities and challenges that blogging presented. It was really interesting to hear about the different types of blogs that exist – why people felt that they should blog and what people thought about existing blogs.

For me – there are a number of obstacles to blogging – perhaps the most challenging one is time. As is demonstrated with this blog – I start out with good intentions – time goes by and I have only attempted several posts. I am also aware of the benefits of blogging – previously I kept a blog for my chartership although only a handful of people had access to the posts – over two years I built up a really valuable collection of reflections and was able to chart my professional development – it enabled me to write my portfolio easily. When I decided to start a blog and open it up to the world I think I lost my focus a little. I worried about the content – and what people may think spending too long considering how I was going to say something and therefore blogging no longer became something simple and quick.

Through developing the session with Amy – a very active blogger I started to rethink the way I have dealt with blogging in the past and see the real benefits this process can have. Following my own advice I need to do the following things:

  1. Identify the purpose of my blog
  2. Keep the posts short
  3. Post regularly (get scheduling)
  4. Promote my blog (through social media etc.)
  5. Enjoy blogging.
Leave a Reply

