Teaching with blogs

Standard

Last Wednesday I attended a really interesting session as part of Warwick’s Windows on Teaching events. The talk was from two Postgraduate Researchers who have teaching responsibilities and focused on how they utilised blogs in their teaching. Peter focused on his experiences of using blogs for seminars whilst Dilip spoke about the broader social media context and how other tools have been/could be utilised for teaching and learning. A video of the presentation can be found here.

The idea of a flexible “third space” for teaching and learning really appeals to me  as it gives that flexibility to the learner and provides a resource bank of organised information. It is no new idea – a quick Google search found numerous presentations and resources on the subject (one of which I have shared below).

The Windows on Teaching session got me thinking – I have used blogs in the past for my own cpd or as a participant on a course whereby our contributions were assessed. From a personal point of view I have found them really useful but the main challenge has been keeping them up to date. My experiences of being involved in blogs is from the perspective of a participant – the idea of a blog as a dynamic information resource really appeals. But how do you measure the success of a blog for teaching and learning also intrigues me – do you base the success on the number of comments or hits to your blog? Is it more about informal feedback you receive?

Ultimately the session re-inspired me to get back to blogs and Twitter more for my own reflections but also how I can these tools in the future.

Leave a Reply

