Library Day in the Life (Round 6) – Wednesday

Standard

I work as an Academic Support Officer at the University of Warwick Library. This role sits within Academic Services and I work on an array of exciting research and development projects and support the Academic Support Librarians with enquiries and information skills sessions. This job is certainly never dull – everyday is different.

Image from Microsoft Images

I was out on my travels today – down to London for a SCONUL Focus Editorial Group meeting. The day started with a few technological challenges  – the wireless internet at home decided to play up and my iPod died – but armed with an Ethernet cable I was able to sort through some emails and print out several to muse over on my journey down to London.

The train journey down was productive – catching up on reading articles and doing some preparation for the LILAC conference –  I am presenting a session on creativity and space with Antony Brewerton.

The meeting took place at SCONUL HQ – I have been involved with the web side of things for SCONUL Focus for several years and recently joined the editorial committee. It was good to catch up with colleagues – and was very productive – lots of ideas for future issues and the latest edition to upload onto the website .

Epic journey home on the train – it took hours – not sure why? But it was another opportunity to catch up with some reading. Lots to follow-up on when I get back to the office tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

