Library Day in the Life (Round 6) – Monday

Standard

Whilst this is the 6th round of the ‘Library Day in the Life’ project – it is my first experience and I thought it a great (and much-needed) way to kick-start my blog in 2011.

I work as an Academic Support Officer at the University of Warwick Library. This role sits within Academic Services and I work on an array of exciting research and development projects and support the Academic Support Librarians with enquiries and information skills sessions. This job is certainly never dull – everyday is different.

My role is quite diverse and in an attempt to be organised I try to spend the first part of Monday mornings setting out objectives for the week and blocking out time in my calendar for various project work. This is only something I have recently started doing – but I find it really helpful in meeting deadlines and setting targets.

This is followed by a meeting with Emma to talk about developing  a web2/ managing your information session that we held for researchers last term and submitting it as a possible generic skills session for students.

A quick cup of tea and catch up with colleagues and then I focused on the main task of the day – developing some persona’s for research support. The area I was investigating focused on the Early Career researcher and what support they may need from the Library. So the day has been spent reading through reports, creating identities and testing my persona against other literature and notes from focus  groups.

My project work was neatly divided by a late lunch with Katharine – great to catch up on the exciting projects she is involved in both within her team and with CILIP West Midlands.

The day also included ad-hoc responses to enquiries both via email and the phone. (Although most of these were referrals for other members of the team.) I also read through updates from the Career Development Group West Midlands meeting that I was unable to get to last week – lots of exciting things in the pipeline including a future LAT11 and a pilot ‘Course in the Box’ session on building portfolios.

Overall a good productive start to the week.

Leave a Reply

